The Mass Spectrometry and New Particle Formation Group is one of 15 research groups of the Institute of Atmospheric and Earth System Research / Physics, at the University of Helsinki ( We are also part of Finnish Academy Centre of Excellence in Atmospheric Science (

Our research is and has been largely funded by  European Research Council (ERC-StG: GASPARCON – 714621), Academy of Finland (projects: 251427, 296628 and 306853) and TEKES (“APCI-teknologian kaupallistaminen” & “APCI-teknologia CBRNE markkinalle”) together with numerous smaller sources of funding.

The group is led by Assoc. Prof. Mikko Sipilä. Information on individual group members can be found below.

Group leaders

Assoc. Prof. Ph.D. Mikko Sipilä,, +358 40 709 3103

Ph.D. Federico Bianchi

Group members

Ph.D. Jonathan Duplissy

Ph. D. Heikki Junninen

Ph.D. Tuija Jokinen

Nina Sarnela 

Chao Yan

Xucheng He

Lisa Beck

Lauriane Quelever

PhD. Yee Jun Tham

PhD. Totti Laitinen

PhD. Roseline Cutting

Where to find us

University of Helsinki

Department of Physics

Gustaf Hällströmin katu 2a

00560 Helsinki